Jo Nell Mellody
Pin on Pinterest
Playwright: Royse City High 2010 Graduate Kyle Hammond
     A play written by a local former student will be making its world premiere this week on the Royse City High School Auditorium stage.
     "Caligari's Coffin" will be presented four times by the Royse City High School Theatre Arts Department -- at 7:30 p.m. Thursday, Friday and Saturday and a 3 p.m. matinee Saturday.
     The play was written by Kyle Hammonds, a Royse City High School graduate. He is a certified speech teacher with a bachelor's degree in communication education from Texas A&M-Commerce.
     "This is an original piece written for our kids and it's making its world premier on the Royse City High School stage," said Theater Arts Director Holly A. Stone. "I commissioned the playwright to write this play for us so that we can have as many of the wonderful students at Royse City High School be a part of this new piece."
     Stone said "Caligari's Coffin" is a "great re-imagination of a classic silent movie."
     A description of the play states that the play is "assured to reach the innermost imagination and leave you wondering if the world we know today is our own reality or just a glimpse of our own past. Hammonds derived his inspiration from the 1920 silent film, 'The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari.'
     "Throughout the captivating stage play, the audience will be taken on a trip of thrills and kills, with a new twist at every corner. The insanity is too much to resist."
     Tickets are $5 for adults and $3 for students and children. Tickets can be purchased at the door upon arrival at the RCHS Auditorium.
     Student cast members are Michael Sherrell, Noah Welch, Victor Muniz, Bayley Owen, Annabel Buchanan, Jamie Williams, Michelle Hilson, Ashley White, Jake Richter, Monica Dunn, Bradley Moseley and Haley Kincaid.
     Members of the chorus are Samuel Chase, Dan Wharton, Chris Pichardo, Kyle Johnson, Xzavier Malone, Chloe Carr, Nya Coleman, Jaquelin Dyer, Rebecca Lucus and Bria Oswell.
     The assistant director is Shealee Owen.
     Joining Owen on the tech crew are Taylore Mullins, Shelby Doroshow, Chris Velo, Alicya Hernandez, Juliet Villegas, Garrett Lunday, Angela Elliott, Lydia Stutts, Noea Pizana, Ximena Martinez, Brina Lupercio, Jacob Fields, Gabby Hernandez, Bailie Anderson, Seeli Summers and Alondria Stewart.
Recognize 1051 Views
Related Posts